• June 9, 2014

    ACM has been offering free webinars for the last couple of years ( ).Each webinar has an audience of around 700 attendees. SIGCOMM has the chance to offer a webinar through ACM in the coming year. If you would like to present such as webinar, please send a one-page proposal to S. Keshav at by June 30, 2014.

  • April 16, 2014

    Brad Karp (UCL) and Jitu Padhye (Microsoft Research) have been selected by the SIGCOMM TSC to be the TPC co-chairs for SIGCOMM 2015.

  • March 6, 2014

    Aaron Schulman is the winner of the the 2013 ACM SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award, for his thesis Observing and Improving the Reliability of Internet Last-Mile Links, completed at the University of Maryland, with Neil Spring serving as thesis advisor.

  • January 9, 2014

    In order to build up the next generation of networking researchers and to contribute to the dissemination of scientific results to the community, SIGCOMM has decided to provide funding for summer schools. We are soliciting proposals for these now, see this page for details and consider organising one:

  • December 4, 2013

    The application deadline for SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award has been extended to 15th December 2013.


    See for details on how to apply.

  • October 4, 2013

    The award is in recognition of outstanding research contributions, early in his career, in wireless communications and networking. His approach to cross-layer wireless design brings together computer networking, signal processing and information theory to solve long-standing problems in wireless networks. Highlights of his research contributions include a practical approach to achieve full-duplex radios (Mobicom'10, MOBICOM'11, SIGCOMM'13) and rateless network design for practical adapation of sender transmission rate (SIGCOMM'11, MOBICOM'12). To quote from his nomination "Sachin Katti’s research has transformed the way we think about wireless communications."

    Congratulations Sachin

  • October 3, 2013

    the SIGCOMM eBook project has been launched with the first volume of the open-source eBook on “Recent Advances in Networking” featuring 9 chapters across different topics. check it out:
    The book is released under the Creative Commons license, and the source-code is also available on GitHub, should the authors or colleagues wish to update or add to the material on a rolling basis. Future versions will be announced soon, for any feedback and suggestions for future topics and format please contact and

  • September 20, 2013

    The SIGCOMM Executive Committee invites potential hosts of the SIGCOMM 2015 conference to submit proposals. Details of the proposal process are posted at . Proposals should be submitted to Jaudelice de Oliveira, the Conference Coordinator, no later than November 15, 2013. Based on the three-year rotation schedule, the conference will be held in Europe.

  • July 18, 2013

    2013 SIGCOMM Award (to be presented at SIGCOMM 2013):

    Larry Peterson For ground-breaking advances in how networking and distributed systems research is conducted, and major contributions to education.


    2013 Test of Time Award (to be presented at SIGCOMM 2013, two winners this year):

    PlanetLab: an overlay testbed for broad-coverage services, Brent Chun, David Culler, Timothy Roscoe, Andy Bavier, Larry Peterson, Mike Wawrzoniak and Mic Bowman, in CCR, Volume 33 Issue 3 (July 2003)

    For catalyzing a qualitative change in the nature of experimental networking research. By overcoming barriers to planetary scale experimentation and deployment, the authors---and their enduring testbed artifact---ushered in a new era of empirically validated network protocol design, catalyzed community-wide attention to the thoughtful construction and employment of appropriate research infrastructures, testbeds, and measurement platforms, and helped to foster a now vibrant research area focused on understanding Internet-scale network phenomena.

    A delay-tolerant network architecture for challenged internets, Kevin Fall, Proc. SIGCOMM 2003

    For anchoring a line of network architecture research that represented a sharp conceptual break from the internet-centric focus of the community at the time, substantially broadened the scope of applicability of networked computer communication, and remains a vital and active research topic today serving domains ranging from resource-poor rural environments to interplanetary space science support.


    2012 SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award (to be presented at SIGCOMM 2013, but recipient can choose to be recognized at CoNEXT 2013):

    Shyamnath Gollakota (winner)

    The dissertation provides a fundamentally new and practical way to deal with interference in the wireless medium, often rendering it harmless or even turning it into an advantage. While traditional wireless systems have attempted to avoid interference, this thesis is the first to practically demonstrate techniques to decode packets under significant interference and leveraging it for improved security. The thesis is transformative and can significantly impact the design of future wireless communication systems.

    Ashok Anand (runners up)

    The dissertation presents a range of innovative techniques to eliminate redundancies in traffic across diverse hosts, routers, and networks across the Internet. The work itself is rigorous and comprehensive in its treatment of redundancy elimination techniques. As the demand for Internet bandwidth continues to be higher than ever before, such approaches can prove to be highly beneficial.

    Laurent Vanbever (runners up)

    The dissertation provides fundamental innovations that allow a network to be re-configured without causing inconsistencies in network routing structures. The thesis encompasses good theoretical concepts that ensure global correctness properties and practical manifestations of these concepts to make them deployable. As networks around us continue to get more complex, the techniques developed in this thesis provide significant tools to improve efficient management of these networks.


    2012 Rising Star Award (was presented at CoNEXT 2012):

    Teemu Koponen

    This award to Teemu Koponen is in recognition of outstanding research contributions, early in his career, on Information Centric Networking, Accountable Internetworking, and Software Defined Networking. His architectural ideas are deep, have influenced other researchers, and crucially, he has put in signficant effort in figuring out how to transfer the ideas effectively into practice.

  • June 27, 2013

    Effective July 1, the new SIGCOMM Chair will be S. Keshav. Renata Cruz Teixeira will be Vice-Chair, and Joerg Ott will be Secretary Treasurer. The full officer list is at

Syndicate content