International Conference on Future Energy Systems (ACM e-Energy)

The International Conference on Future Energy Systems (ACM e-Energy) aims to be the premier venue for researchers working in the broad areas of computing and communication for smart energy systems (including the smart grid), and in energy-efficient computing and communication systems. By bringing together researchers in a high-quality single-track conference with significant opportunities for individual and small-group interaction, it will serve as a major forum for presentations and discussions that will shape the future of this area.

Call for Site Proposals

The Steering Committee of the ACM SIGCOMM e-Energy Conference series invites potential hosts for the year 2015 to submit a site proposal.
Thus far, the conference series has been organized in an alternating pattern between Europe and the USA with the previous hosts being University of Passau (Germany), Columbia University (USA), U. Carlos III de Madrid /IMDEA (Spain), UC Berkeley (USA), and University of Cambridge (UK). However, for 2015, we will consider proposals from all locations equally, with no geographical preference.

In selecting a site, the Steering Committee will balance cost, accessibility, the commitment of local organizers, and availability of conference facilities and hotels.

We encourage potential organizers to submit a short (up to 2 pages) preliminary application using the format specified below. We will select a shortlist of these preliminary applications to gather additional information and from which the final selection will be made.

Proposals should be sent *no later* than March 19th 2014 via email to the ACM SIGCOMM chair, Srinivasan Keshav <>, and to the SC member Hermann de Meer' <> with the subject line: "SIGCOMM e-Energy site proposal - 2015".

The proposal should explicitly address:

  • attractiveness of the location (city) and local site (conference)
  • accessibility for travel from international locations
  • conference facilities and approximate costs
  • names and affiliation of proposed, widely recognized, general co-chairs
  • names and affiliations of potential chairs for local organization, publicitynand treasurer roles
  • potential for cost moderation through sponsorship by local organizations.


NOTE: the site proposal need not suggest program committee chairs; that issue will be handled separately by the e-Energy Steering Committee.

The conference is typically held in the May/June time window each year. Please indicate if dates in this time frame have major local conflicts, e.g., significant local events, school openings, etc. that would interfere with either the proposed site or the proposed conference chair's participation.


Steering Committee

Hermann de Meer (2010- )
David Hutchison (2010- )
Marco Ajmone Marsan  (2012- )
S. Keshav  (2013- )
Prashant Shenoy (2014- )
Jon Crowcroft (2014- )

Prior Events

ACM e-Energy 2014

ACM e-Energy 2013